2018 GUL Fireball GBR Nationals

30 July 2018

Penzance Sailing Club

July 21 - 27, 2018


Final day and overall

We were promised an increasing breeze early in the day for the final races of the Gul Fireball Nationals. But as usual the forecast was not very accurate and the fleet that was hoping for an early start to play catch up, was held on shore. Eventually, enough wind arrived to get everyone launched and to the start line to wait for the magic 5 knots to arrive.

After one false start the first race got away in the gentle breeze that did have a hint in the sky that it may increase. Ian Dobson & Richard Wagstaff were straight out of the blocks and into the lead making sure that the title did not slip out of their hands. They held and extended their lead to the line. As the wind faded into the finish they were followed in by Heather & Chris Payne and Isaac Marsh & Keiran Graham.

The waiting game then ensued while the Race committee followed the wind and moved buoys around to set up for what was to become the last race of the championship. With barely 5 knots on the start line the fleet took off to find a massive left shift. Elaine & Graham Slater and Chris & Russell Thorne took full advantage of it and sailed into the distance for a while.  However, Jiri Paruzek & Jacub Kosvica had gone further into the shift and went around the first mark in the lead. The race then took a turn as the forecasted wind arrived big time – albeit late and with a bigger shift. The race team moved the windward mark catching some teams out and the fleet were treated to a final blast down the reaches to the finish. Jiri & Jacub held their lead to the finish followed in by Chris & Russell Thorne and Dave Hall & Paul Constable,

Time had run out for any further races which left Ian and Richard the clear winners of the championship counting 5 first places.


A big thank you to Penzance Sailing club and all the volunteers and of course to Gul - the event sponsor with fantastic prizes and to Hyde Sails for their prizes. Plus, some great pictures from Lee Whitehead: Sunday  | Thursday


Winners Ian Dobson (right) & Richard Wagstaff (left) with Chris Turner (UK Fireball Chairman)

UKnat2018winners Photo: Lee Whitehead

Full results


Category prizes: 

1st Overall - Ian Dobson & Richard Wagstaff

2nd overall - Heather McFarlane & Chris Payne ( AUS)

3rd overall - Penny Clark & Russ Clark

4th overall - Anthony & James Wilcox

5th overall - Jiri Paruzek & Jacub Kosvica (CZE)

6th overall - - Dave Hall & Paul Constable

7th overall - Derian & Andy Scott


Perseverance -- Simon and Sophia Benson

1st Lady helm , Heather McFarlane

1st lady crew Alice Powell

1st Over 50 helm - Master Trophy Helm - Derian Scott

1st Over 50 Crew - Master Trophy Crew - Chris Payne

1st Over 60 helm - Grand Master Trophy Helm - Heather McFarlane

1st Over 60 Crew - Grand Master Trophy Crew - Graham Slater

1st Helm under 21 - Dan Johnson

1st Crew under 21 - - Tom Goacher

Classic boat Trophy - 13944 Dan Johnson & Ben Latham

Toby Hamer Memorial Trophy- Alice Powell

McLaughin Southworth Trophy- Anthony Willcocks & James Willcocks.


1st Silver -  15038 Colin Stevens & Tom Kilskey

2nd silver - 14950 Chris & Russel Thorne

3rd silver -  15070 - Isaac Marsh & Keiran Graham

Merit Award Silver Fleet - Jono Loe

1st Bronze - 15046 - Phil & James Popple

2nd Bronze - 14388 - James Cuxon & Neil Arnolt

3rd Bronze - 14887 - Thomas Payne & Alice Powell

1st Merit Award Bronze Fleet James Popple.


Special Merit Award for MC duties - Andy Robinson