Fireball Australia


aus logo.jpg


Fireball Sailing in Australia

Fireballs are sailed across Australia.

Click here for a brief history of Fireball sailing and development in Australia (from a Fireball International magazine 1972/3 issue)

National Championships are each year (normally over the Christmas holiday period). The next National Championship will be held at Brighton Seacliff Yacht Club starting on the 28th December.

Fireball 2022 Logo

World Championship to be held at Geelong, Victoria in Jan 2022.

Perpetual Trophy Winners (please contact us if you can see any mistakes)

For all the latest Australian Fireball  news events galleries for sale items and results look on the Fireball International pages

2018 - 19 National Championships were held at Royal Geelong YC VIC

2017-18 National Championships were held at Nedlands YC, WA

2016-17 National Championships were held at Rivoli Bay, SA

2015-16 National Championship were held at Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club 

If you have recently purchased a second hand Fireball please complete the change of ownership form.  Note: This form may display incorrectly on Smartphones or iPads. This can be resolved by opening the file in the Adobe Acrobat Reader App (Free).

Fireball Australia on Facebook

New South Wales

Fireballs are sailed in New South Wales at Gosford Sailing Club every Saturday in summer.

The NSW state championships are held at Gosford Sailing Club.

In additional to this regular travellers races are conducted.

2014-15 National Championship were held at  Gosford Sailing Club 

NSW State Champions 1965 to present

South Australia

South Australia can boast having six boats in the top eleven at the 2012 World Championships so the level of competition is high.

South Australian Committee Members 2018-19

South Australian Constitution

The state championships are conducted over several weekends during summer at different clubs around the state.

South Australian State Champions 1968  to present



As at March 2021 the main Fireball clubs in Victoria are Warrnambool, Geelong, Frankston, Cairn Curran and Yarrawonga.

The state championships are normally conducted between February and Easter

Victorian State Champions 1966 to present.  Please help us locate the old trophy so we can show the full list of Victorian State Champions!

Western Australia

The WA fleet is based at Mandurah Offshore Fishing and Sailing Club.

There is also movement to start up a fleet in the Swan River in the next two years.

Future National Championships

2020-2021 Brighton & Seacliff Y C South Australia 28th December 2020 - 3rd January 2020
2021-2022 Geelong (includes World Championship) Victoria 30 January 2022 - 11 Feb 2022
2022-2023 TBA Queensland TBA 

Useful Forms & Links

Change of Ownership Form

Note: This form may display incorrectly on Smartphones or iPads. This can be resolved by opening the file in the Adobe Acrobat Reader App (Free).

IFAA Constitution

2015 Fireball Class Rules

Fireball Rope Lengths  








IFAA Mailing Address

Secretary: Matthew Carter

57 Anaconda Drive

North Haven

South Australia 5018



President - John Heywood

Phone 0411 434 722



Secretary - Matthew Carter

Phone 0439 402 226



Treasurer - Glenn Stewart

Phone 0419422992



Measurer - Nick Gunner

Phone 0409 523 336



New South Wales

President - Robert Hughes

Phone 0414 856 297



South Australia

President - Jack Fletcher

Phone 0418807141

Association email

SA Committee members for 2018-19



President - Glenn Peverell

Phone 0409949910



Western Australia

President - Kevin Luff

Phone 0407 428 221







Darryl Carter

Bryan Inns

Mike Rogers

Ben Schulz

Graeme Castles

Norm Hammon



Darryl Carter

Dave Godden

Bryan Inns

Mike Rogers

Chris Tillett

John Clifton

Richard Martin



Arthur (Smiley) Chapple

Norm Hammon

John Thompson

Ian Lane